Buhari swears in Mohammed as CJN

President Muhammadu Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari has sworn in Ibrahim Tanko Mohammed as the 18th Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN),

Mohammed who has been acting since January when Buhari suspended Justice Walter Nkanu Onnoghen is now the substantive CJN.

Mohammed was recommended by the National Judicial Council(NJC) to be appointed CJN and he was subsequently screened by the Senate which cleared him for an appointment.

At the swearing-in ceremony were the Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Speaker of the House, Femi Gbajabiamila, Deputy Senate President, Ovie Omo-Agege.

Also at the ceremony that started around 10.30am, included Inspector General of Police, Mohammed Adamu, Borno State Governor, Babagana Zulum, Bauchi State Governor, Bala Mohammed.

Others included the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, Chief of Staff, Abba Kyari, and Head of Service, Winifred Oyo-Ita.