BREAKING NEWS: Senate confirms the appointment of 15 Resident Electoral Commissioners, leaving out 12 others


Members of the Red Chamber of the National Assembly have confirmed the appointment of 15 out of the 27 nominees sent to it on 23 March, 2017 as Resident Electoral Commissioners (REC) of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) after clearance by the Nigeria Police, Department of State Security (DSS) and the Code of Conduct Bureau.

This development was made known earlier today by the Chairman of Senate Committee on INEC, Senator Suleiman Nazif, while presenting the report of his committee during the plenary session on the floor of the senate. The confirmation followed the adoption of the report by members.

Nazif however stated that the remaining 12 nominees were still undergoing screening by his panel.

After the confirmation, the the Senate President, Senator Bukola Saraki, commended the committee for a job well done and urged the cleared nominees to contribute their best towards improving the electoral processes in the country. Those cleared and confirmed are:

1          Godswill Obioma       Abia

2          Ahmed Makama        Bauchi

3          James Apam               Benue

4          Nwachukwu Orji       Ebonyi

5          Iloh Chuks                  Enugu

6          Nentawe Yilwada      Plateau

7          Umar Ibrahim           Taraba

8          Emeka Joseph                        Imo

9          Obo Effanga               Cross River

10       Francis Ezeonu          Anambra

11       Briyai Frankland       Bayelsa

12       Ibrahim Abdullahi    Adamawa

13       Agboke Olaleke          Ogun

14       Hussaini Pai               FCT

15       Sadiq Musa                Kaduna

Those still awaiting the completion of their screening include:

16.        Barr. Mike Igini          Delta

17.         Jubrin Zarewa           Kano

18.         Mrs Asmau Maikudi  Katsina

19.         Dr. Mahmuda Isah    Kebbi

20.         Prof Samuel Egwu    Kogi

21.         Amb. Rufus Akeju      Lagos

22.         Prof. M. Zubairu        Niger

23.         Samuel Olemekun     Ondo

24.         Adbuganiyu Raji        Oyo

25.       Prof. Risi Shehu         Sokoto

26.       Barr. Kasim Giedam  Yobe

27.       Ahmad Mahmud       Zamfara