Andy Uba Loses Out In Senate Committee Shakeup


Senate President, Bukola Saraki, on Tuesday, carried out a minor shakeup in the committees of the Senate with two senators losing supposed juicy committes to less glamorous one.
This is the third time the Senate President will be carrying out minor reshuffle of the committee leadership since he came into office in 2015.
The shakeup saw Senator Andy Uba from Anambra state and Senator Fatima Raji Rasaki from Ekiti state losing out on supposedly plum and juicy committee seats.
Aside from the minor reshuffle which saw the Senate President moving around Chairmen of six committees, one new committee was created, bringing up the total committees in the Senate to 69.

The Senate President in announcing the minor reshuffle, announced the removal of Senator Andy Uba from the Public Account Committee, and made him the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Interior.
Uba’s removal was mainly instigated by his defection from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC) where he contested and lost the race for the APC Governorship ticket for the 2018 Anambra State Governorship election.
Senator Fatima Raji Rasaki lost her former position as Chairman, Senate Committee on Trade and Investment and is now to head the less glamorous Culture and Tourism Committee.

Her former position is now to be occupied by Sabo Mohammed.
The Interior Committee which senator Uba is to head now, was formerly headed by Senator George Sekibo who was removed by the Supreme Court from the chamber and asked to be replaced by Andrew Uchendo.
Uchendo is yet to be sworn-in by the Senate president as a bonafide member of the Senate.
Also, in the shakeup, Senator Stella Oduah was upgraded from her former position as committee Vice Chairman to lead the committee on Cooperation and Integration as the substantive Chairman.

The position was formerly held by senator Abubakar Sani Danladi who was also sent packing from the senate by the Supreme Court.
Senator Adeola Olamilekan from Lagos state is to lead the newly created Senate Committee on Local Content.
Senator Bukar Mustapha from Katsina State is to head the Senate Committee on Capital Market.
The position was held by late Senator Isiaka Adeleke. The Senate President also announced the appointment of four Vice Chairmen.